BizNewsConnect

Ingenuity’s First Black-and-White Image From the Air taken today.

NASA flies chopper over Mars, creates history

Ingenuity, first aircraft to fly on another planet

By Arrangement with INDIA STRATEGIC

NASA’s Ingenuity Mars Helicopter has become the first aircraft in history to make a powered, controlled flight on another planet

PASADENA, Apr 19 (The CONNECT) - NASA’s Ingenuity Mars Helicopter has become the first aircraft in history to make a powered, controlled flight on another planet.

The Ingenuity team at the agency’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Southern California confirmed the flight succeeded after receiving data from the helicopter via NASA’s Perseverance Mars rover at 6:46 a.m. EDT (3:46 a.m. PDT). – About 4.15 PM IST

“Ingenuity is the latest in a long and storied tradition of NASA projects achieving a space exploration goal once thought impossible,” said acting NASA Administrator Steve Jurczyk. “The X-15 was a pathfinder for the space shuttle. Mars Pathfinder and its Sojourner rover did the same for three generations of Mars rovers. We don’t know exactly where Ingenuity will lead us, but today’s results indicate the sky – at least on Mars – may not be the limit.”

The solar-powered helicopter first became airborne at 3:34 a.m. EDT (12:34 a.m. PDT) – 12:33 Local Mean Solar Time (Mars time) – a time the Ingenuity team determined would have optimal energy and flight conditions. Altimeter data indicate Ingenuity climbed to its prescribed maximum altitude of 10 feet (3 meters) and maintained a stable hover for 30 seconds. It then descended, touching back down on the surface of Mars after logging a total of 39.1 seconds of flight. Additional details on the test are expected in upcoming downlinks.

Details: https://www.indiastrategic.in/nasa-creates-history-by-flying-its-ingenuity-helicopter-on-mars/

Recent News

Advertisement